CEA Honours Nation’s Frontline Power Sector Workers At Fourth Edition Of Lineman Diwas

150+ linepersons from 40+ transcos & discoms honoured at the main event in the national capital

The Central Electricity Authority (CEA), Ministry of Power honoured the frontline workers of the nation’s power sector, at the celebration of the fourth edition of Lineman Diwas in New Delhi today, 4th March, 2024. The day is being celebrated in order to recognize the tireless dedication and service of the linemen and ground maintenance staff who form the backbone of electricity distribution across the length and breadth of the nation. More than 150 linemen and linewomen from over 40 state and private transmission and distribution companies, from Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Jammu & Kashmir, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and Delhi visited the National capital to participate in the celebration. The initiative is expected to have served as a significant morale-booster for the frontline heroes of the power sector, providing them with the well-deserved recognition and appreciation.

The theme for the fourth edition of the celebration, which is being held in collaboration with Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd (Tata Power-DDL), is ‘Seva, Suraksha, Swabhiman’, signifying the dedication, service and sacrifice of linemen across the country.

The CEA aims to establish celebration of a dedicated day as ‘Lineman Diwas’ as a nationwide tradition across the country for all state and private transmission and distribution companies.

During the event, linemen also had the opportunity to exchange ideas and share safety best practices, fostering collective learning within the power industry. A special display of the various safety equipment and tools were arranged, allowing guests to learn and share more about the best practices implemented. Additionally, videos screened at the event highlighted the importance of workplace safety and incidents prevention by various Transcos and Discoms. This collaborative effort empowered linemen to draw insights from their peers, broaden their perspectives, and reinforce effective safety protocols, thereby promoting a safer working environment for all.

“Grateful to linemen who go above and beyond to ensure uninterrupted power supply to the nation”

Through a video message, Union Minister for Power and New & Renewable Energy Shri R. K. Singh conveyed his appreciation for the invaluable contribution of the linemen and linewomen. “The celebration of Lineman Diwas is the start of a culture of greater appreciation for the unrelenting efforts of the frontline workers of the power sector. We take immense pride in recognizing the invaluable contribution of these heroes who work even in the face of challenges such as adverse weather and unforeseen crises.”

The Minister complimented the linepersons for going the extra mile in ensuring uninterrupted power supply for the nation, noting that they are a lifeline for the nation. “We are grateful to the linemen who go above and beyond to ensure uninterrupted power supply for the functioning of the country’s technological, industrial, and social infrastructure.” The Minister added that Lineman Diwas serves as a highly effective platform in facilitating the exchange of ideas and the sharing of Safety Best Practices among the participants.

Extending his best wishes to linemen, the Minister said that without them, the nation’s power sector cannot function.

“Linepersons of power sector are the strongest pillar of our nation’s power system”

Delivering the keynote address, Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority, Shri Ghanshyam Prasad said, “Linepersons of power sector are the strongest pillar of our nation’s power system. The observance of ‘Lineman Diwas’ emphasizes our profound appreciation for their dedication and relentless service. The purpose behind recognizing the hard work of these frontline workers, is to educate them on safety and inspire them to persist in their exemplary efforts.”

With women breaking gender stereotypes, it has been heartening to welcome nine ambitious women serving as linewomen, technicians, and engineers. These women professionals of the power sector belonged to discoms and transcos from Bihar, Karnataka, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Uttarakhand.

The event was also graced by mountaineer Ms. Baljeet Kaur, who has many mountaineering feats to her name, who inspired the audience with her story.

Speaking at the event, Mr. Ganesh Srinivasan, CEO, Tata Power Delhi Distribution Limited said: “We take pride in spearheading this nationwide initiative and are delighted to witness overwhelming participation from more than 40 Transmission and Distribution companies uniting to honour the dedication and service of these frontline workers of the power sector. The success of the previous three editions of Lineman Diwas and the continued support by the Central Electricity Authority (CEA) in urging and encouraging other transmission and distribution peers in the power sector resulted in a much more widespread celebration this year with over 170 Linepersons getting felicitated in the national capital. Lineman Diwas over these four years has turned into a National Movement.”

The event was also attended by the senior members of the CEA and other transcos and discoms: Member (Power Systems), Shri Ashok Kumar Rajput; Member (Planning), Shri A. Balan; Member (E&C), Shri Ajay Talegaonkar; Member (Thermal), Shri Praveen Gupta and CEO, BSES Rajdhani Power Ltd., Shri Vineet Sikka; CEO, BSES Yamuna Power Ltd., Shri Amarjeet Singh; and Deputy Director, NPTI.

Names of the Transmission and Distribution Companies which participated: Adani Electricity Mumbai Ltd, Andhra Pradesh Eastern Power Distribution Company Limited (APEPDCL), Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited, Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Limited (BESCOM), Bihar State Power Transmission Company Ltd, BSES Yamuna Power Ltd., BSES Rajdhani Power Ltd, Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation Ltd (CESC), Dakshin Haryana Bijli Vitran Nigam (DHBVN), Damodar Valley Corporation, Gujarat Energy Transmission Corporation Limited (GETCO), Indigrid Ltd, Jammu and Kashmir Power Transmission Corporation Ltd. (JKPTCL), Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited, Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited (JDVVNL), MP Madhya Kshetra Vidyut Vitaran Co. Ltd. (MPMKVVCL), MP Poorv Kshetra Vidyut Vitaran Company Ltd. (MPPKVVCL), Madhya Gujarat Vij Company Limited (MGVCL), Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Co. Ltd, New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC), North Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd (NBPDCL), Nidar Utilities Panvel LLP, Noida Power Company Ltd, Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited (OPTCL), Pashchimanchal Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd (PVVNL), Power Transmission Corporation of Uttarakhand Limited, Dehradun (PTCUL), Paschim Gujarat Vij Company Limited (PGVCL), Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd, South Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd (SBPDCL), Punjab State Transmission Corporation Ltd (PSTCL), TP Central Odisha Distribution Limited (TPCODL), TP Southern Odisha Distribution Limited (TPSODL), TP Western Odisha Distribution Limited (TPWODL), Tata Power Northern Odisha Distribution Limited (TPNODL), Tata Power Company Ltd, Tata Steel Ltd, Tata Steel Utilities and Infrastructure Services Ltd, Uttar Gujarat Vij Company Ltd. (UGVCL), Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Ltd (UPPCL), Uttar Pradesh Power Transmission Corporation Ltd (UPPTCL).

Related Articles

Back to top button